Residents of Freedom elect Town Officers each year in March by secret ballot at the Town Office (Election Hall Annex) from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. The following day the Annual Town Meeting takes place beginning at 10:00 AM at the Dirigo Grange in Freedom Village. Each Selectmen serves a three year term. The Board of Selectmen meets every other Monday at 6:00 PM. After the Annual Town Meeting, Selectmen appoint the Code Enforcement Officer, Plumbing Inspector, the Local Health Officer and the Animal Control Officer. They also appoint members to the Appeals Board, Budget Committee, Planning Board, and Recreation Committee. Fire protection is provided by Freedom's Volunteer Fire Department. The firehouse is located on Pleasant Street next to the Town Office.

2019 Selectmen Meeting Minutes

Ron Price
Term expires 2019

Steve Bennett
Term expires 2021

Brian Jones
Term expires 2019


Town Clerk:
Registrar of Voters:
Tax/Excise Collector:

Cindy Abbott, 382-6177,


Erna Keller, 382-6177,

General Assistance

Brian Jones, Cindy Abbott

Code Enforcement Officer:
Plumbing Inspector:
Assessor - Buildings:

Jackie Robbins, 525-7706. 852-1840 (Cell)

Fire Chief/
Forest Fire Warden

James Waterman, 993-2602, Emergency 800-660-3398

Emergency Management Director:

Christine Spaulding 692-4309

School Board Representative:

Ellie Hess

Local Health Officer:

Frances Walker, 382-6267

Animal Control Officer:

Peter E. Nerber 505-0981
Peter A. Nerber 529-0948

Road Commissioner:

Selectpersons share this Position and its responsibilities

Regional Solid Waste Representative:

Tammy MacTaggart 382-6177
Also Facebook Green Freedom

Monthly Recycler:

Town of Freedom

Superintendent of Schools:

Dr. Paul Austin, RSU 3, 84 School St. Unity 04988, 948-6136

Planning Board:

Drew Fales, Prentice Grassi, Mary Ann Bennett, Sally Ann Hadiniak, Frances Walker

Board of Appeals:

To be determined

Community Historical Society:

Myrick Cross, Viola Greeley. Frances Walker, Paul Flynn, Kate Flynn, Anne Marie Adamson, Sally Ann Hadiniak, Glen Couturier

Recreation Committee:

Cindy Abbott, Erna Keller, Tina Freeman, Sallyann Hadyniak, Marilyn Perry

Cemetery Committee:

Cindy Abbott, Erna Keller, Kim Holmes, Steve Scott

Budget Committee

To be determined